Back to start page News about the VFW 614 Write us! Friends of the VFW 614 All about the VFW 614

News about the VFW 614 Write us! Friends of the VFW 614 All about the VFW 614

General / History of the VFW 614

The VFW 614 is the first jet passenger plane developed and mass-produced in the Federal Republic of Germany. The program start took place in the middle of the sixties, the first flight was in 1971. With the development of this airplane in Bremen and the series production at the Vereinigte Flugtechnische Werke at Lemwerder the foundation-stone was layed for the participation of Germany in the Airbus program. Many technical innovations, which applied in the VFW 614 for the first time, still form the base for the development of new aircraft models today.

In 1965 the VFW 614 was conceived as short-distance plane and aimed in particular at the market of the developing countries. Some special features of the airplane have their origin in this aim, for example the most apparent feature, the engines which are installed on the wings. This assembly position enables a quite short and thus sturdy and light landing gear, which is very favorable in particular for takeoffs and landings on poorly reinforced runways. Additionally the high engine position means better protection from dust and dirt, which can be whirled up by the soil. The renouncement of a reverse thrust for braking after the landing means smaller structure loads and thus fewer maintenance costs, the deceleration was guaranteed by an extremely good brake (with ABS) and spoilers on the upper side of the wings.

Even today the VFW 614, of which three units have been in service at the flying squad of the German Air Force until march/september 1998, is far superior in the shortness of the start and landing distance to other types of comparable size.

In the course of the development of the VFW 614 the Vereinigte Flugtechnische Werke (VFW) merged with Fokker to the new VFW-Fokker GmbH. After the first flight in 1971 and the crash of the first prototype during the testing phase the mass-production of the VFW 614 started in 1974. Altogether there were 19 aircraft built, 13 of them went into service.

At the end of the seventies the VFW 614 program ended, since no more orders had been received over a longer period. The economical and financial prerequisites for continueing the program were no longer guaranteed. The starting Airbus program had considerable problems regarding their sales in the beginning due to their strong competitors in the US and therefore it had highest priority. Anyway, Boeing certified the VFW 614 to have absolutely no competition at that time due to the high technical standard.

At the beginning of 1998 five airworthy units existed, three of them (as already mentioned above) at the Federal Air Force, one at the DLR, Braunschweig, and one at the EADS-Airbus in Bremen. The aircraft formerly owned by the Federal Air Force have been gradually superseded in 1998 after 21 years of successful service and are now being used for ground training, simulation and exhibition aircraft. The ATD owned by EADS has been moved to the visitor terrace at the Bremen Airport for exhibition purposes. The aircraft owned by the DLR (experimental and research aircraft ATTAS) is the only one which is still in service and will be for some more years.

After the war with the VFW 614 a new period began for the german aircraft industry and an important milestone was laid down in the history of aircraft construction in Germany.

Further information is available within this presentation of the VFW 614 by Joachim Kruth (PDF, German language only).

Philipp Jordan, Joachim Kruth (Friends of the VFW 614), drawings of G3 by Bastian Mail


Wingspan: 21,50 m Length: 20,60 m
Height: 7,84 m Max. cabin width: 2,66 m
Max. cabin height: 1,92 m Wing area: 64 qm
Max. takeoff weight: 19950 kg Max. landing weight: 19950 kg
Typ. payload: 3625 kg Max. operating speed: 700 km/h / 378 kt (21000 ft)
Max. cruise speed: 735 km/h (21000 ft) oder Mach 0.65 Landing speed: 157 km/h
Min. takeoff distance: 830 m Min. landing distance: 620 m
Max. operating altitude: 7620 m / 25000 ft Max. range: 1200 km (40 Pax)
Range (40 passengers): 1200 km Max. passengers: 44
Min. crew: 2 Thrust: 2x 3390 kp = 33.2 kN
Engines: Rolls-Royce/SNECMA M45H Mk 501

24.04.2007

© 2000-2016 — Philipp Jordan — Imprint

Zurück zur Hauptseite Neues über die VFW 614 Schreiben Sie uns! Der Freundeskreis der VFW 614 Alles über die VFW 614

Zurück zur Hauptseite Neues über die VFW 614 Schreiben Sie uns! Der Freundeskreis der VFW 614 Alles über die VFW 614

Allgemeines / Geschichte der VFW 614

Die VFW 614 ist das erste in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland entwickelte und in Serie gebaute Düsenverkehrsflugzeug. Der Programmstart fand Mitte der sechziger Jahre statt, der Erstflug war 1971. Mit der Entwicklung dieses Flugzeugs in Bremen und der Serienfertigung in Lemwerder bei den Vereinigten Flugtechnischen Werken wurde der Grundstein gelegt für die Beteiligung Deutschlands am Airbus-Programm. Viele technische Neuerungen, die in der VFW 614 erstmals Anwendung gefunden haben, bilden noch heute die Basis für die Entwicklung neuer Flugzeuge.

Die VFW 614 wurde 1965 als Kurzstreckenmaschine konzipiert und zielte insbesondere auf den Markt der Entwicklungsländer ab. Einige Besonderheiten des Flugzeugs haben in dieser Zielsetzung ihren Ursprung, so zum Beispiel das augenscheinlichste Merkmal, die auf den Tragflächen montierten Triebwerke. Diese Montageposition ermöglicht ein recht kurzes und damit leichtes und stabiles Fahrwerk, was insbesondere für Starts und Landungen auf weniger gut befestigten Landepisten sehr günstig ist. Außerdem bedeutet die hohe Triebwerksposition besseren Schutz vor Staub und Dreck, der vom Boden aufgewirbelt werden kann. Der Verzicht auf einen Umkehrschub zum Bremsen nach der Landung bedeutet geringere Strukturbelastungen und damit weniger Wartungsaufwand, die Verzögerung wurde durch eine extrem gute Bremsanlage (mit ABS) und Bremsklappen auf den Flügeloberseiten sichergestellt.

Noch heute ist die VFW 614, von der drei Exemplare bis April bzw. September 1998 bei der Flugbereitschaft der Bundeswehr im Einsatz waren, anderen Typen vergleichbarer Größe in der Kürze der Start- und Landestrecke weit überlegen.

Im Laufe der Entwicklung der VFW 614 schlossen sich die Vereinigten Flugtechnischen Werke (VFW) mit Fokker zum Unternehmen VFW-Fokker GmbH
zusammen. Nach dem Erstflug 1971 und einem Absturz des ersten Prototypen in der Erprobungsphase ging die VFW 614 1974 in Serie. Gebaut wurden 19 Flugzeuge, davon gingen 13 in Dienst.

Ende der siebziger Jahre wurde das Programm VFW 614 eingestellt, da über längere Zeit keine Bestellungen mehr eingegangen waren. Die wirtschaftlichen und finanziellen Voraussetzungen für eine Fortführung des Programms waren nicht mehr gegeben. Das anlaufende europäische Airbusprogramm mit zunächst erheblichen Vertriebsproblemen aufgrund der harten US-Konkurrenz erhielt die notwendige Priorität. Dabei attestierte selbst Boeing der VFW 614 damals absolute Konkurrenzlosigkeit aufgrund des hohen technischen Standards.

Es existierten Anfang 1998 noch 5 flugfähige Exemplare, davon drei bei der Bundesluftwaffe, eines bei der DLR in Braunschweig und eines bei der EADS-Airbus in Bremen. Die Flugzeuge der Bundesluftwaffe (Flugbereitschaft BMVg) wurden nach 21-jähriger erfolgreicher Dienstzeit im Jahr 1998 ausgemustert und werden jetzt für Bodentraining, als Simulator oder als Museumsflugzeug verwendet. Die EADS-Maschine befindet sich als Ausstellungsflugzeug auf dem Bremer Flughafen. Das DLR-Flugzeug (Versuchsträger ATTAS) wird noch einige Jahre in der Forschung eingesetzt und ist das einzige fliegende Exemplar.

Mit der VFW614 wurde ein neuer Abschnitt in der Nachkriegsentwicklung der deutschen Luftfahrtindustrie eingeleitet und ein entscheidender Meilenstein in der Geschichte für den zivilen Flugzeugbau in Deutschland markiert.

Ausführlichere Informationen finden sich im umfangreichen Vortrag über die VFW 614 von Joachim Kruth (PDF-Format).

Philipp Jordan, Joachim Kruth (Freundeskreis VFW 614), Zeichnungen der G3 von Bastian Mail


Spannweite: 21,50 m Länge: 20,60 m
Höhe: 7,84 m Max. Kabinenbreite: 2,66 m
Max. Kabinenhöhe: 1,92 m Flügelfläche: 64 qm
Max. Startgewicht: 19950 kg Max. Landegewicht: 19950 kg
Typ. Nutzlast: 3625 kg Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 700 km/h /378 kt (21000 ft)
Max. Reisegeschwindigkeit: 735 km/h (21000 ft) oder Mach 0.65 Landegeschwindigkeit: 157 km/h
Min. Startrollstrecke: 830 m Min. Landerollstrecke: 620 m
Max. Flughöhe: 7620 m / 25000 ft Max. Reichweite: 1200 km (40 Pax)
Reichweite (40 Passagiere): 1200 km Max. Passagiere: 44
Min. Besatzung: 2 Schubkraft: 2x 3390 kp = 33.2 kN
Triebwerke: Rolls-Royce/SNECMA M45H Mk 501

24.04.2007

© 2000-2016 — Philipp Jordan — Impressum